Films shown in the cinema is quite a spectacle to see especially with the right crowd and the introduction of multiplexes. You get to be part of the film, while enjoying an undisturbed ambience. The cinema, with its wide screen, helps me engage with the characters. The extreme close-ups, especially during and emotional scene, just entraps with its detail capture of the human emotion.

images-1.jpgimages.jpg

The surround system in the cinema, gives the dialogue, score and ambience of a particular scene a suspension of disbelieve, to me in the audience. This work well with horror, war and even with drama films.

imgres.jpg

Going to cinema is certainly quite a treat, especially for films with crazy CGI. However, there are many types of film exhibitions that exist now thanks to modern cinema and technology. Private art houses, outdoor theatre, film festivals, home cinema and tablets are just the few of the many the many portals in where we can watch film. Film festivals and some outdoor theatre tend to have audiences’ are bit more boisterous when viewing a film. Personally, I find it exciting and thrilling to indulge this outburst of public appreciation but I rarely get the chance.

My laptop has been my go to film cinema for the past few years. YouTube and Netflix have made it convenient and cheaper to watch film from the comfort of my own home. While I have the variety and the privacy to watch anything I want, I lose some of the reality of the film. The instances to stop and go get a snack in between a movie, particularly when watching with a group of friends, kills the emotion the director is setting for the audience straightaway.

The films that I want to create are predominantly on social and currents issues, with the use of film techniques. Just like Michael Moore’s, his creative use of film techniques in his documentaries or feature film, as he would say, is abetter way to attract audiences. The entertaining use of film elements and at the same time maintaining the objectivity of the issue, helps keeps the audience engage while not boring the with too much details.       

Michael Moore’s 13 Rules for Making Documentary Films

